Club Song:

Leave a comment

February 7, 2013 by Doug Coutts

RENOIRCoffee-bar Blues
Words & Music: Peter Cape

I sit and watch my baby work a coffee machine
Drinkin’ cafe negro ’til my face turns green
I want to hold my baby but the counter’s in between
I got the low-light coffee-bar blues

Cappuccino, cafe negro – all the whole night through
Cappuccino, cafe negro – What’s a man to do?
My baby sells me coffee
But that’s all she’ll do

Last night I saw my baby in a lovely dream
Stretch her tender arms out through a cloud of steam
Reaching for the handle of her cafe creme!
I got the low-light coffee-bar blues

Cappuccino, cafe negro – all the whole night through
Cappuccino, cafe negro – What’s a man to do?
My baby sells me coffee
But that’s all she’ll do

My baby puts her apron on at half past ten
Pulls espressos until two, and then takes it off again
Is it love that keeps me wakeful, or just caffeine?
I got the low-light coffee-bar blues

Cappuccino, cafe negro – all the whole night through
Cappuccino, cafe negro – What’s a man to do?
My baby sells me coffee
But that’s all she’ll do

I been looking at my baby now for half a year
The coffee I’ve been drinking’s got me feeling queer
If baby doesn’t love me soon I’ll switch to beer
I got those low-light coffee-bar blues

Cappuccino, cafe negro, cafe latte, and more
With chocolate, and cinnamon, and froth to the floor
Long black, short black, two flat whites
I got the low-light coffee-bar blues

From An Ordinary Joker – the life and songs of Peter Cape, Roger Steele, Steele Roberts, Aotearoa New Zealand.

Listen to the original.

Leave a Reply

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 190 other followers

wordpress analytics
